Outstanding Service “award”

Posted: March 28, 2011 in I like what I see
Tags:

Once in a while I feel the need to blog about great service. Only once in a while, because it only happens once in a while. Especially here in Canada, where for the most part, we’re satisfied with mediocre service, and always leave the same tip, regardless of the service. Well, I don’t. I give shit tips when they’re deserved, and good tips when they’re deserved. And I will complain, and I will send my steak back (have several times at The Keg). But when I get great service, I note that as well, speak to the manager, and let him/her know about the terrific service, and my server.

This time, the great service came as a shock, in the form of a service appointment for my 3 year old Lexus.  Last week I had the pleasure of taking my car in for service. Sounds crazy, I know. But really, how often do you walk into a service shop, even Lexus, where all the staff are happy, and genuinely happy to see you. Well, it happened to me. I stopped taking my car to one dealership because of poor service, found another, and started with them last week. At Ken Shaw Lexus in Toronto, they give great service, and with a smile. You can feel it the moment you get out of your car in the service department. Everyone is helpful, everyone is happy, everyone is informative. Even the rental car guy was happy to be there. A stark contrast from years of poor car service – so I asked everyone I dealt with how long they had been there, as I’ve rarely seen the same people in a dealership beyond a year or 2. This was different. Everyone there had been there for years.  And happy to be there still. No one is looking to be anywhere else. At Ken Shaw Lexus, the staff clearly are happy, and it comes out in their handling of their customers. There’s magic there, likely started by Ken Shaw himself many years ago, when he set up shop and decided the customer came first. Well, maybe, but the employees, if not first, are a pretty close second. A family run business, it seems everyone there, regardless of their last name, is part of the family – and it really shows.

Hats off to the staff at Ken Shaw Lexus in Toronto. You are truly unique in an industry of same same same.

Leave a comment